Manage Workflows

Simple management of your workflows

As soon as you open the monitoring module of your IT Monitoring Software unitworx, you will get an overview of the included workflows. These are always displayed in the left column and divided into the categories "Your Workflows" and "Predefined Workflows". You can open them by clicking on the respective workflow. This will give you an overview where you have different customization options.

Keep in mind: Predefined workflows have limited editing options. Nevertheless, you want to adapt something to your individual requirements? Simply use the copy function and create a new workflow you can assign to the desired devices.

 

Description & State

The title as well as the description of the workflow can be adjusted as desired, it is a simple text field. It's important that you select meaningful names, so all users in your account know what the monitoring is meant for.

It is also helpful if you assign a state to the workflow. You can choose between "Editing", "Active" and "Archive". This terms stand for themselves and are helpful for you and your colleagues to identify the right monitorings.

IT Monitoring Software - Description

Parameters

If a workflow contains parameters, these are displayed in the "Parameter" overview. Again, it is important to choose meaningful titles and descriptions, so the traceability is given later on. By clicking on the desired IT asset under "Executions", you can see which parameters are defined for it and, if necessary, adapt them.

IT Monitoring Software - Parameters

Executions

Under the point "Executions", you will get a clear overview on which IT assets the workflow is activated. The result is structured according to customers and you've the possibility to search through a filter for a specific device. In addition, the overview has also a link to the respective asset documentation and the option to customize the defined parameters.

IT Monitoring Software - Executions

Tickets

As soon as an activated workflow occures a problem - which couldn't be solved by unitworx itself - a ticket is created automatically, so a support team member takes care of this issue. You can view those tickets, which were created by the respective monitoring workflow, under the point "Tickets". The listed tickets according to customers and IT assets can be viewed, edited and opened in the ticketing module.

IT Monitoring Software - Tickets

Edit Workflow

Of course, you can still adapt workflows and make the necessary adjustments. By clicking on the "Edit" button, the flow chart view of the process opens and you have all possibilities like in the workflow creation. Once your customizations are completed you can save and close the monitoring.

 

Copy Workflow

If you click on the option "Copy", a copy of the workflow is automatically created and saved. Now you can make all desired changes in the possible areas. The new workflow is marked with the state "Editing". Once you have made your adjustments, you can set it to "Active" and use the new monitoring.

This is useful, for example, if you want to adapt a predefined workflow to your individual requirements or require several similar workflows for different scenarios.

 

Delete Workflow

If you want to delete workflows, take special caution to avoid losing important data. As soon as a workflow is deleted, the monitoring of the assigned assets also disappears and it may be running without any active monitoring. In addition, it is possible that you maybe need the workflow again or at least have a similar task. Therefore, the better alternative is to set the state of the workflow to "Archive", so you have all information stored.

To delete a workflow from the system rarely makes sense. For example, if you have created a test monitoring or unintentionally made a copy of an existing workflow.

 

Assign Monitoring

With the unitworx monitoring you can save a lot of time, because as soon as a new asset gets into the documentation unitworx automatically activates the appropriate workflows. The corresponding settings are adjusted under the option "Set Default Workflows". You only need to specify which nodes should be assigned to which monitorings and you don't need to worry about it anymore.

Of course, monitorings also can be assigned manually. Simply select "Add Monitorings" and you can match the desired IT assets. How this works and what you have to consider, we have summarized here.

 

Show History

You want to know which changes have already been made to a workflow, or maybe want to restore an older version of it? No problem, unitworx has saved everything for you. With "Show History" you have the complete history at a glance, can show or restore old data and see which user has made the adjustments at which time.

IT Monitoring Software - History